Five Years & Many Memories

So I’ve been neglecting my blog for far too many weeks now – life happens. But alas, friends, I have returned to the blogosphere for this momentous occasion. What might that be? The five year anniversary of my relationship with my now fiancé, Ethan. Sucker for love stories? Hope so cuz this one is probably going to surmount all expectations you currently have.

It was about this time five years ago when Ethan and I were sitting outside of my parents Germantown home chatting before he was to leave. I mean quite literally that it was this time five years ago, because we sat outside at his car until the wee hours of the morning, a ritual of ours that occurred far too often to his parents dismay. Let’s first rewind to the days prior.

Ethan and I had been “talking” as it is often called for several months when one night, a very nervous young Ethan decided it was time to have the “what are we?” talk. The Ethan you all know and love today is much different than the Ethan I’m describing now. High school Ethan was one of the shyest humans I’ve ever come into contact with – and it was totally adorable and sweet. This night, he was more nervous than I had ever seen him and I found out why when I walked him out to his car that evening.

It honestly was the cutest thing in the world, watching him shuffle his feet so nervously. Our conversation was like something out of an awkward middle school scene in a movie… And it went down something like this.

E: So… I think you know by now … That I like you. Right?
Me: Yes. *grinning*
E: Okay. And … You … I mean I think you … You like me too … Right?
Me: *grinning more* Yes.
E: Okay so I guess I was just wondering … You know … *shuffling feet* … Well if we like each other than we should just …
Me: ….yes?
E: You know what I’m trying to say, right?
Me: Yes, I know what you’re trying to say.
E: So … what’s your answer?
Me: You haven’t really given me a question to answer…

I don’t exactly remember where the conversation left off for the night, but there were definitely loose ends. I didn’t want to make it easy on him, you know, I wanted him to work for it, but he was too nervous to continue that night, and he actually ended up getting in his car and going home. I couldn’t help but be a little tickled. I wasn’t just going to hand it to him though.

He came over the next night and when it was time for him to go home, I walked him out to his car like usual. We picked up where we left off.

E: Okay. So we definitely like each other. So we should do something about it, right?
Me: Yeah, I suppose we should.
[We discussed the fact that I knew what he was referring to and I told him that I wasn’t going to make this easy on him and that he would have to ask me a question if he wanted an answer. Frustrated, and still obviously nervous, Ethan got back into his car, and went home (girlfriendless) once again.]

Finally, the next night when it was time for me to walk him out, we got outside & he took a breath and just simply said, “Sara Ann, will you be my girlfriend?” Obviously I obliged and here we are, five years later and engaged.

There are so many things I could say about Ethan and our relationship. I would be typing and you would be reading for hours if I tried to put into words what a blessing this relationship has been in my life over the past five years. So I’ll try to keep it short(ish).

Ethan and I have seen the best of our days and the worst of our days together. He has put up with so much of my crap, sometimes I just look at him and wonder how he’s done it – and sometimes I think the same about myself, too ;). But I think the coolest thing is that Ethan and I have been through several different big phases of life together. We’ve literally grown and matured together. Being able to look back at all the years we’ve seen together and all the memories we’ve made is something that I will always treasure.

I can remember laying on my bed in high school, seventeen years old, thinking how excited I was to marry Ethan one day. I thought I could never love him more than I did then. Boy, was I wrong.

I remember celebrating silly “monthaversaries” and thinking we had been together for soooo long. I remember long text and phone conversations that got him in trouble with his parents. I remember the first time he kissed me (a whole month AFTER we started dating) and how I felt like I was in a stinking fairy tale. I remember doing homework together at my parents kitchen table. I remember the first time I went over and met his family. I remember high school dances, and how he hung a sign in the hallway of my high school asking me to Prom in front of everyone. I remember when we went separate ways for college, thinking the world was going to end because we wouldn’t see each other every day. I remember trips to the lake together. I remember visits to each other’s colleges and tear-filled goodbyes. I remember random snow days, hanging out with roommates, doing nothing and having a blast. I remember fights we’ve had and the unfortunate week we spent broken up (it was my fault … both times). I remember Ethan leaving his family on Christmas Day to come to Jonesboro when my puppy, Gracie passed. I remember getting all of our tattoos together. I remember moving to Jonesboro and thinking how this is where we’ll live together and start a family after we’re married. I remember all of the little things and memories that got us where we are now. It’s so sweet to be able to look back on all of these memories to see where we’ve been and how fair we’ve come.

I’m so thankful to God for putting Ethan into my life. We have taught each other so much and what a blessing this relationship had been to us both. I can’t imagine these past few years without him – and I don’t want to. All of my best memories and happiest moments include Ethan and I know we will continue to collect these memories for many years to come.

Today, we’re celebrating our fifth and final dating anniversary. Coolest and weirdest thing I’ve ever said! This time next year, we will be MARRIED. And I don’t think I’ve ever looked forward to anything more than this. What’s cooler than getting to marry your best friend? Nothing. Only 232 days … Not that I’m counting down or anything.

Hope I didn’t make you wanna throw up with all my sappiness…but I really don’t care if I did 🙂

Blessings,
SAS

~ by thebrainfunkphenomena on March 7, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
