Dreams

Yesterday was a big day for me. After taking a semester off this fall, I became a student again. But something more important than me realizing that I’m a student again happened yesterday. Yesterday I realized, or perhaps remembered, my dreams.

I’ve never liked school. I’ve always been bored and unfocused, due in part to my near chronic ADD. It wasn’t until I realized what I wanted to study – and eventually do – that I actually started enjoying school. I know that this is normal – obviously studying things you like is more enticing than studying things you don’t like – but it was just really interesting to me what a change it made. It was interesting because when I started enjoying school and what I was reading and studying, I started dreaming more. Now, I do less day dreaming about what’s for dinner or how gravity works (seriously though…it’s nuts isn’t it?!) and I do more dreaming about how I can make an impact on the world or even just my community.

In my reading last night (“Sociology and the Study of Social Problems” by Anna Leon-Guerro) I came across this quote by a Gary Fine. He says, “Those who care about social problems are obligated to use their best knowledge to increase the store of freedom, justice, and equality.” It really struck me. As I thought about it, I thought also about how reluctant I was to go back to school. Taking a semester off may have been the best decisions I’ve made during my college career and I really was not ready to give up my copious amounts of freedom. But inevitably, I knew that in order to do what I wanted to do, what I’ve been dreaming of doing, I would have to go back to school.

What I had forgotten during my semester off is that I do truly enjoy studying social work. I love reading my books about social problems and sociology and how our world works (most of the time, at least). I also really enjoy that most of my peers, have similar dreams as me, and some of them are almostas passionate as I am! I think I missed that aspect of being in school more than I knew until yesterday. I know we all have dreams and aspirations, but I think the social workers of the world in particular have more passion and dreams than they know what to do with. It’s really cool and inspiring to be surrounded by people who share this with me.

Anyway, after reading that quote by Gary Fine, I just thought for a while about how I shouldn’t see this as “having” to go back to school. First of all, this education is not only such a blessing but an opportunity that not everyone has the means to get. Second, I don’t actually have to do it. It’s a stepping stone to get to where I want to go, but I wantnot get there, I dream about getting there, but I don’t have to get there. Third, he’s totally right. I have access to a great education – a chance to learn a lot. I do feel obligated to use my knowledge and you know what, I can’t wait to do it! Which is why I will say what I never ever thought I would say … I am so glad to be back in school. There. I said it. Enter parade of band and cheerleaders celebrating these words.

I’m so excited to be learning and dreaming again. I have so many plans and ideas that I feel like I could burst at the seams – and it’s the coolest thing ever. I love dreaming. I think we should all have dreams. Everyone has something they’re passionate about – something that I think is really awesome. If we all had dreams of how we could use our passions to make the world a better place maybe one day they would come true. So let’s all dream big, how bout that? I’d like to see this world be changed.

Many blessings,
SAS

Oh, P.S. My first day back was good, I didn’t have to ask for directions AND I didn’t get lost and I only embarrassed myself once!

P.P.S. Pro tip: If your interesting fact on the first day is that you have 14 piercings, your teacher WILL assume that most of them are … *ahem* hidden by clothing and you WILL be mortified and your face WILL turn bright red… Just so you know. 😉

P.P.P.S. If you don’t already know, all of my piercings are on my ears and face, I SWEAR.

Okay, bye now.

~ by thebrainfunkphenomena on January 21, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
