Resolutions, Part 2

We’re nearly half way through January and I’m still thinking about resolutions to make for the new year. While thinking about resolutions I have I realized that a lot of times, we confuse goals with resolutions. For me, a resolution is a long term change that I need to make while a goal can just be one simple task. Although now that I’m writing this I guess they are pretty interchangeable. Anyway, that being said, this is my 2014 goals and resolutions post.

Here’s a fun list of a some things (in no particular order) I would really like to do this year.

2014 goals:
Replace caffeine source from soda to tea
Get out of the house and go exploring
Spend more time in nature
Go hiking/climb a mountain
Find out if Arkansas actually HAS mountains
(Go back to school and) make good grades
Maybe start by studying geography (LOL, kidding)
Get another piercing
Or two
Get another tattoo
Or two
Blog more
Get in shape
Stay in shape
Run a marathon
Or at least another half marathon
Go a month without wearing makeup
Spend less time on my phone
Leave the house without my phone
Try vegetarianism again
Do more things for other people
Go to an amusement park
Learn to knit or crochet
Learn to cook
Start a cookbook collection
Buy a meal for a homeless person
Pay for a strangers coffee
Grow my hair out to my butt
Visit two new states just for fun
Read the Harry Potter series five times
Accomplish all of these and more

Now, on to the resolutions. These resolutions are again in no particular order. I just thought numbering backwards would give a little dramatic effect.

In 2014 I will:
3. Be uncommon. I don’t mean “unique.” I’m already unique; we’re all unique. In November, I went to a banquet honoring the graduates of the Memphis Center for Urban Theological Studies, where my mom works doing social media and all her other techy, geniusy stuff. A man named Stacy Spencer talked about how we’ve blurred the lines between holy and common. He talked about how God calls the common to do uncommon tasks. I’ve been living as one of the common. I want to be uncommon. Not in the sense that I have this one pair of shoes that no one else has, but maybe in the sense that I have the attitude that no one else has. Uncommon people are servants. Uncommon people love unconditionally, all the time. Uncommon people are gracious and humble, unbreakably courageous and fiercely kind. I want to be uncommon.

2. Stop using makeup to cover up imperfections (and only use it to enhance existing features). News flash: I have zits. Some times I have a lot of them. And sometimes I let them make me feel ugly. Double news flash: no one’s skin is perfect. This year, I want to stop being embarrassed by a little zit on my face because really … who cares?! Why are we so concerned about having a perfect, zit free face anyway? Am I so common that I really think that’s what matters? This has to stop. I need to start believing that I’m beautiful no matter my complexion. And so do you.

1. Leave the past in the past. My favorite professor, Mr. Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore, once said, “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that.” I’ve spent too much time dwelling on things that I can’t change. I’ve beat myself up over things that could have gone differently and what I should or should not have said. I’ve spent so much time worrying about things, that I have been forgetting about the present time. What a waste! I’m angry at myself for wasting all of that valuable time. This year, I’m moving on and I’m leaving the “what ifs” in 2013. I’m going to live in the present.

If I could have half the success in accomplishing these resolutions as I did with my 2013 resolution, I would not only be a better person, but I would be a happier person. So here goes nothin’ I guess. These resolutions could change me as a person a whole lot. These things aren’t something I can check off in one day, but things that will take persistence and strength. I hope that on January 1, 2015, I’m looking back on this year, reflecting on the changes I’ve made and proud of how far I’ve come in just one year.

Happy (belated) New Year!

Many blessings,
SAS

~ by thebrainfunkphenomena on January 13, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
